PDA

View Full Version : When do you give out 'goody bags' at your parties?

ourbabygirl
10-18-2009, 08:26 PM
Just for your kids' birthdays? Or for holiday or other parties, too? Also, what ages do you get them for? For instance, we've got some 1 year olds coming for a Halloween party; would you give them a goody bag? Or from what age 'up' (e.g., those ages 3-10 get goody bags)? I was thinking of giving the kids little plastic snack containers (name written on with glow-in-the-dark puffy paint) with a prepackaged bag of Goldfish crackers for the ride home.
I'm new to the whole favors/ goody bag thing; please enlighten me! ;)

TIA!

AbbysMom
10-18-2009, 08:32 PM
I only do it at birthday parties. We gave pumpkins at my daughters party a couple weeks ago and my 12 year old niece was shcoked she got one so 10 as a limit seems right. We've gotten gifts for our 1 year old at parties - usually a small book. I think it's discretionary.

ETA: your gift sounds great!

misshollygolightly
10-18-2009, 09:16 PM
I think your snack-for-the-road treat sounds great! No need to do anything more. I think the general rule for goody bags or favors is that you give them at parties where (most of) the guests are bringing gifts (so birthday parties, bridal showers, baby showers, some weddings, etc.). I often buy or make party decorations that can double as favors, so I tend to give them away for all kinds of other parties (halloween rubber duckies will be part of the decor at our halloween party, and the guests can choose one to take home). But mostly, I think people stick to favors when gifts are given.

Also, I think favors are at the host's discretion. They are a nice touch, but not something that I necessarily expect (or want my DS to act entitled to!).

SnuggleBuggles
10-18-2009, 09:38 PM