PDA

View Full Version : what to look for at WHOLE FOODS?

Seitvonzu
10-22-2009, 09:22 PM
i'm going to whole foods tomorrow and wondering if any of you have any particular items that you would recommend looking for. we often get to trader joes, but only have been to whole foods a handful of times. when i used to have better access, i was a student and POOR, so *not* shopping at whole foods!

any faves that you can't pass up? special treats? everyday values that are staples? i'm looking for any ideas...the last time i went i ended up with peonies (beautiful! and HUGE!) and a putamayo kids cd (animal playground-- really good!), but hardly any food. DH is completely on board with me stocking up this time and i'm bringing a cooler. can't wait!

vludmilla
10-22-2009, 09:45 PM
I love WF for bulk foods like oatmeal, beans, etc. The prices are great. I also like the grind your own organic peanut or almond butter. They also have a nice selection of chocolate. Grass fed beef hot dogs and other meats.

Seitvonzu
10-22-2009, 09:50 PM
grass fed beef hotdogs? that sounds great. my child is a hotdog fiend unfortunately. i accidently picked up the turkey nitrate free ones at trader joes instead of the beef and they are AWFUL. she'll still eat them. bleck , bleck :) good rec! thanks :) (also the grind your own nutbutter, that's another staple around here)

wellyes
10-22-2009, 09:53 PM
If you are a vegetarian or vegan, they have these meatless pepper steaks which make me want to keel over with pleasure when I even THINK about them. Oh my they're good.

SnuggleBuggles
10-22-2009, 09:58 PM
http://www.windsorpeak.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=333991&highlight=foods
That past thread may give you some more ideas. :)

In addition to the items I posted in that thread I would add:
WF brand cereal bars
their diapers (if you have need for baby diapers)
grind your own honey roasted peanut butter

Beth

Seitvonzu
10-22-2009, 10:22 PM