PDA

View Full Version : Ipod Touch questions

jse107
10-29-2009, 10:44 PM
OK, so I'm using my birthday money to buy myself an Ipod Touch. I have several questions, and know that y'all will be able to help me! I'm a total newbie, so bear with me.

What is the difference between the 2nd and 3rd generation?

Should I get the refurbished 16GB 2nd generation, refurbished 32GB 2nd generation, or a new 32 GB 3rd generation?

What kind of other stuff do I need to go with it? Case, covers, etc?

What kind of apps should I get right away? What will I need?

Any other things I should know?

kristac
10-30-2009, 07:50 AM
I'm about to get one as well, so not an expert. The difference between 2G and 3G is mostly the processing speed. The 3G also has a microphone for voice memos, etc. The 8GB 2G and 3G are exactly the same(which you didn't ask about). I'm personally getting a refurb 2G as I can't justify the extra $$ for the 3G.

turtledove
10-30-2009, 09:19 AM
Not an expert, but my DH has the 64G 3G touch. He debated between the 32G and 64G but ultimately decided with the 64G since he wanted to put movies on it (He rides the train for an hour and 20 minutes each way every day). So as far as the size, how do you plan to use your ipod? If you are only using it for music and smaller sized apps, you don't need the bigger size. If you plan to put movies or anything else that takes up a lot of memory, you should get the bigger one. I personally wouldn't mind getting the refurbished one to save money. I would also definitely invest in a case of some sort for protection. DH also got a screen protector to prevent scratches.