PDA

View Full Version : Thermometer recs please...

fortato
11-08-2009, 08:41 PM
I need a new thermometer for Jack. We have a Vicks Rectal that was perfect when he was little, but now, he's not so receptive to letting me use it. And- now he's sick.

What thermometer do you use, and would you recommend it? I don't know whether to get a temporal or ear thermometer...

Help!!

vludmilla
11-08-2009, 09:27 PM
I have no experience with ear thermometers but we like our Exergen temporal one from Costco. It was about $20. Once I learned to use it correctly, it has been very accurate.

maestramommy
11-08-2009, 09:30 PM
We have a digital rectal, that the girls will still allow, but we do have that forehead scan thermo mentioned in pp. It's harder to get a good reading when they're little, but maybe now Jack is old enough to hold still. It does work pretty well. Sometimes Dh uses it on himself.

Tondi G
11-08-2009, 09:43 PM
I need a new thermometer myself... I was going to ask here too but forgot.

While I would like a temporal one I would also like to get a good digital oral/underarm option as well. Does anyone have a good simple digital that works well? Mine isn't reading well and takes forever.... just getting old I think but it was never really great to begin with.

sorry to hijack but thanks in advance to anyone who has a suggestion/recommendation!

~Tondi

fortato
11-08-2009, 09:46 PM
Tondi-- Don't worry about hijacking... I'm glad my post was a bit of a reminder...

Any help is good, right?

Clarity
11-08-2009, 09:56 PM
Don't buy the Vicks 8 second digital thermometer. I've had 3 now, the 3rd one stopped working less than 5 minutes from when I left the store. I went back in and exchanged it for the Walgreens brand and I'm happy with that so far - I've had it 4 days. LOL
I will say I do like the 8 second read for the babies because they just don't hold still for very long. For an underarm read, 30 seconds is an eternity.

scoop22
11-08-2009, 10:42 PM