PDA

View Full Version : If Your DC Has Had The H1N1 Injection...

randomkid
11-09-2009, 12:59 PM
Have you been able to get the second dose? I was able to get mine yesterday at, of all places, the grocery store pharmacy. I work in a hospital and haven't been able to get it there, but went grocery shopping yesterday and they had it! I qualified because I am a healthcare provider. Anyway, this pharmacy never gives any kind of vaccine to anyone under 18yo. So, I am still in search of a vaccine for DD. The literature I read from yesterday said that any child up to age 9yo needs 2 injections about a month apart. I know the mist doesn't require that, but I can't find that either. If I can find a shot for her, is it better to get one, than none at all or is it a fruitless effort? I'm concerned that I won't be able to find the second dose considering how difficult it is just to find the first.

Thanks,

mama2g03
11-09-2009, 01:04 PM
It is my understanding that the mist requires two doses also. DD and DS both got the mist and DD was scheduled to get her second last week but the doctor's office called and said they did not get more mist. We have to call back to see when they get more and reschedule the second doses.

Momof3Labs
11-09-2009, 01:06 PM
The mist is also two doses. DS1 had the H1N1 injection since he had the seasonal flu mist less than 4 weeks before his school did their H1N1 vaccine clinic. I don't know that we'll be able to find a second dose, but it's not an issue for a few more weeks (he got his vaccine last Weds).

I haven't tried searching for the vaccine for us or DS2 yet - I should, but all the frenzy doesn't appeal to me at all. DH is a paramedic so REALLY needs it but needs to search for it as they won't be getting it at work (they aren't a high enough priority, I guess).

mecawa
11-09-2009, 01:53 PM