PDA

View Full Version : Ideas on how to build my professional skills in business/management ....

jeniferrlynne
11-13-2009, 04:12 AM
I am a SAHM who is beginning to have more responsibility outside the home. These are just with my volunteer duties -school, charities, church,etc. But I was thinking what better time to work on my skills to be applied later for when I really do want to re-enter the workforce. Sooo ....I need suggestions on what to read, websites, magazines, and so forth. Basically how to do some things I didn't study in college. My degree is in counseling and religion, not anything in the business world.

I didn't take a single business or management class so I would like to learn how to do some of the following:
-Run a meeting/Make an Agenda for an effective meeting
-Set goals & create vision
-Manage a team
-Communicate ideas well with others
-Be more productive with my time etc. (someone has suggested GETTING THINGS DONE a book)
-Basically anything related to business management!

The number of google hits out there is overwhelming and the only other forum I am a member of is HOTCOUPONWORLD so you guys become my experts!

Anyone have some ideas?

kijip
11-13-2009, 04:41 AM
I recommend the The Leadership Challenge book. It has some things that are connected to effective meetings and is pretty inspirational. It reads fast.

Jim Collins is an author with very good stuff as well.

Also, if you are doing any sort of fundraising volunteer work (common for schools and groups it seems like) you can try reading Fundraising for Social Change or basically anything Kim Klein has ever written. Her stuff is often very relevant for small groups and schools. She publishes the Grassroots Fundraising Journal. They have a website. I am sure there are meeting and other resources on their.

The main thing as a volunteer is to do what you say you will do and don't agree to do more than you can do. That makes you far more professional than OH! so many people.

wellyes