PDA

View Full Version : s/o: a sewing question - re: bobbin thread

neeleymartin
11-21-2009, 11:17 PM
do you make a bobbin for each new color you use on top? OR do you just leave white in the bobbin all the time? total beginner to sewing and i find bobbin thread to be such a pain.

is it really necessary to switch with each color if what i am sewing is casual? i'm not sewing a wedding gown or anything. and if the tension is set properly it shouldn't even show, right? tia

maestramommy
11-21-2009, 11:48 PM
I have a few bobbins with different colors on them. I tried to get the colors as close as possible, at least in tone.

m448
11-22-2009, 12:08 AM
I typically match the bobbin thread since even the most balanced stitch will still peak through. I have a couple of thread racks for my thread and I keep the bobbin right under the spool of thread on the same peg.

caheinz
11-22-2009, 12:10 AM
Another always-matching person here.

deannanb
11-22-2009, 12:14 AM
I don't always match - but I try to get the blue colors close together - I will grab what is close to matching.

Maybe spend a day just doing bobbins - look at the post - "for the sewers"
there is a good sale on thread at joanns - I have this set an really like having any color I need at my fingertips -

ETA Post: http://www.windsorpeak.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=342157

ellies mom
11-22-2009, 12:16 AM
I have a couple of thread racks for my thread and I keep the bobbin right under the spool of thread on the same peg.

That is brilliant! I have a box that holds bobbins but your way is so simple.

I'm another matcher. The only thing I don't match exactly is my serger thread but partly because I don't have a lot of colors yet and partly because rethreading the thing is a pain. I found that tan matches a lot though.

o_mom
11-22-2009, 12:17 AM