PDA

View Full Version : Will specifics

jgenie
11-25-2009, 06:50 PM
If you have a will for your DC, do you have them named individually or just a blanket statement covering all children? TIA

lizzywednesday
11-25-2009, 07:08 PM
Have you consulted with an estate planning attorney?

There are so many different ways you can write a will, and so many ways the estate and probate courts will treat those writings, that it's best to consult with a professional to hammer out the language so there's no dispute if, G-d forbid, something should happen.

Personally, I would be very clear about to whom things are left, which means I would name each individual DC, but that is just me.

While I am not a lawyer, I edited estate planning and probate law treatises and forms publications for several years and the different permutations of legal language used in many fill-in-the-blank forms or client interviews has given me pause when considering any planning I might do myself.

jgenie
11-26-2009, 04:01 AM
Have you consulted with an estate planning attorney?

There are so many different ways you can write a will, and so many ways the estate and probate courts will treat those writings, that it's best to consult with a professional to hammer out the language so there's no dispute if, G-d forbid, something should happen.

Personally, I would be very clear about to whom things are left, which means I would name each individual DC, but that is just me.

While I am not a lawyer, I edited estate planning and probate law treatises and forms publications for several years and the different permutations of legal language used in many fill-in-the-blank forms or client interviews has given me pause when considering any planning I might do myself.