PDA

View Full Version : Guitar and lessons for 6 year old?

firstbaby
11-27-2009, 12:07 AM
DS will be 6 in a few weeks and he's been really interested in learning to play the guitar for the last year or so. We have a cousin that plays both electric and acoustic and that's definitely sparked DS's interest. Anyone have some experience with this instrument for this age? We are considering getting him a guitar for Christmas with lessons if appropriate. Also, (I know this would be depend on your area), approx. what do lessons run? TIA!

TwinFoxes
11-27-2009, 04:02 AM
I don't know about prices, but when I was growing up I had friends who started lessons around seven years old, so I don't think six too young if he's motivated. They even make little kid sized guitars. I think it's great he's into music so young!

babybell
11-27-2009, 06:22 AM
I'd be hesitant about starting a kid that young on guitar (I'm a music teacher). It's a pretty big, awkward instrument and definitely not as easy to learn because it's difficult to see what you're doing (unlike piano, where everything is laid out in front of you). What I do for children who want to learn an instrument but seem too young is I start them on piano. That way you're creating a musical foundation that they can build upon for the rest of their lives, no matter what instrument they choose.

But, if you decide to go ahead with lessons, prices range depending on your area. I charge $25 for a once a week, half hour lesson.

vejemom
11-27-2009, 08:12 AM
:yeahthat:

Most of the guitar teachers I've worked with wouldn't take kids under age 12 for the reasons babybell outlined. Of course, there are always exceptions, and you might be able to find that teacher. No reason not to get him a guitar to noodle around on even if you cant find a teacher!:)

wolverine2
11-27-2009, 09:21 AM