PDA

View Full Version : I need help picking curtains.. please help :)

heidiann
11-28-2009, 12:55 AM
I really have no idea what sort of curtain/window treatment would look nice on this window.
We have a maroon leather couch/love seat, so who would like to pick me curtains? :)

gatorsmom
11-28-2009, 02:29 AM
I'm not a decorator by profession but I do enjoy interior decorating, if that counts. :) I think there are lots of things you can do here but you have to ask yourself some questions:

How much light do you want to be coming through these windows?

Do your window treatments need to provide privacy?

Do you need something durable here or can something cloth and/or more delicate work here (I saw the cat climbing poll and was just thinking of a cat trying to climb the curtains).

What is your budget?

How is the rest of the room decorated?

There are so many things you could do here. You could simply put up horizontal blinds which will provide privacy, are indestructible and are easy to clean. You can get nice, white PVC blinds at Home Depot. Or you could do something ornate like a sheer with a bit of a pattern on it. This would provide a bit of privacy but wouldn't block the light and they are very delicate but can be inexpensive and yet elegant. Or you could do a valance with a blind. Or, if you like the shades that are up already, you could dress them up with a valance. You could do all out pleated curtains that are tailor fit to each of the windows (my mom loved this look and always said JCPenney did a great job for that type of curtain).

I think this website has good ideas www.smithandnoble.com (http://www.smithandnoble.com) . Even if you don't order from them, their pictures might give you something to think about.

gl!

heidiann
11-28-2009, 04:05 AM