PDA

View Full Version : Cookies for Cookie Exchange

carolinamama
12-02-2009, 10:52 AM
I am contemplating committing to a cookie exchange where I will need 3 dozen cookies to take. I always bake cookies for Christmas but have never done such a highly organized exchange. What type is good for making 3 dozen? And I have to be able to do this while I have two kids underfoot since it is on a Thursday morning so I don't want anything too difficult.

Any suggestions?

L'sMommy
12-02-2009, 11:40 AM
I've been doing a cookie exchange for the last 4 years, and I usually make sugar cookies with red and green coarse sugar. People love them and I think they are fairly easy to make. Last year, when I was 8 mos pregnant I tried ginger cookies, and they were ok. Sugar cookies are better. This year I am making a typical choc. chip cookie, but will use cranberries and white chocolate. If I am trying a new recipe I do a trial run to see whether the recipe is easy/difficult.

Whatever you decide to bake, have fun!! This is one of my favorite holiday activities (DH thinks it's crazy that I make time for this).

ourbabygirl
12-02-2009, 11:45 AM
I love cut-out sugar cookies (with powdered sugar, milk, and almond flavored frosting), but they are very time-intensive. At our cookie baking day this weekend, we're going to make those, possibly some toffee (you can find simple recipes online), peanut butter w/Hershey's kisses in the middle, and I'm not sure what else.

Have fun!

infomama
12-02-2009, 11:47 AM
Bar cookies are the easiest followed by drop cookies IMO.

MamaMolly
12-02-2009, 11:48 AM
For ease, I'd go for drop cookies instead of something you had to roll and cut. I like the PP's suggestion of jazzing up a regular cookie to make it more festive, so maybe adding bits of candied ginger to oatmeal cookies or the white chocolate and cranberry for the not-so-chocolate chip ones would be yummy. And festive! :)