PDA

View Full Version : Letting something go....how??

greenclover
12-28-2009, 05:24 PM
Something has been bothering me for a long time and I figure I could get some honest-and hopefully helpful-advice here. Back in the early 90s I graduated from high school and went onto college.

The college I attended was very unique in that it was single sex, located in the South(major culture shock for a Yankee like me) and was active in sorority-like traditions. From the start, things just did not seem to work for me. I had a very hard time adjusting to the freedom of college, the ways of the South and so on. And truth be told, I feel now that the change caused a bit of a manic depressive episode (It runs in the family; happily, I have not had an episode since that time) in me. Long story short, I left the spring of my freshman year after being involved in a car wreck; I never returned to traditional college. I do donate to my (brief) alma mater, receive the alumnae magazine, own a coffee mug and so on.

That said, I still keep in touch with a few friends from that time in my life. More and more, though, I am mourning-for lack of a better word-the fact that I did not attend and graduate from that college-or any other traditional college. I feel like something very special is missing. I know I should just move on but this is really getting to me.

Any suggestions on how to move on?
I am thinking of taking a trip to campus so that I can find closure but am wondering if this will add fuel to the fire..

MMMommy
12-28-2009, 05:35 PM
This may be too much, but would you be in a position where you could go back to college (not necessarily that same one) and earn your degree? Would that bring you closure? Perhaps night classes or part-time even? Or just auditing some classes? I'm not sure if you are in a place in your life where you could even do that, but it was just a thought.

greenclover
12-28-2009, 05:41 PM
I am actually starting nursing school in the fall..

wellyes