PDA

View Full Version : Anyone work in Health Information Management or know about it?

niccig
01-08-2010, 03:22 AM
Ah yes, more job/career questions from me. I have applied for some jobs in my old field, but something is still not sitting quite right with me. Both my ILs worked in Health Care. FIL was nurse anesthetist, MIL was nurse and then a nursing home administrator, and now consults. They both asked me if I would consider the Health Care field. If I had a do over, I think I would have considered it when went to college - in the last few years I did 2 UCLA classes in anthropology that were Human Osteology and Paleopathology - evidence on human bones of diseases/stress etc. I found it fascinating, as MIL knows, she visited and I had a plastic skull on the dining room table.

MIL then asked if I had considered Health Information Management or Technology. I was a librarian, actually a law librarian and I like to build databases. I can be a bit of a geek, my favourite class in my Library degree was Systems Analysis and Design. We took the class with the IT students and I was the only Library student that got an A. This was 14 years ago though.

I never considered taking what I know of information management and applying it to the Health Care field. I've looked at the American Health Information Management Association, and there seems to be a few options from coding certificates, to Bachelor, Post-Bachelor Certificates, to Masters Degrees. Does anyone work in this part of health care that can give any advice? How family friendly is the work? Are there part-time positions? We've talked about me being part-time during middle and high school, or the danger years as DH calls it.

Thanks for any advice,
Nicci

niccig
01-08-2010, 03:56 PM
Bump as it fell a pages on.
If anyone knows anything, I would appreciate the advice.

brgnmom
01-08-2010, 04:20 PM