PDA

View Full Version : Cake Decorating tools?

catroddick
01-11-2010, 12:46 AM
I just did a test run of a cake that I want to do for DD’s birthday, and thank goodness. Each one of my +/-15 year old cake decorating bags exploded on me, and I have tons of tips that don’t seem to go with anything.
Now, I am just getting into this whole cake decorating thing. And as someone who is not very creative or patient, I don’t see myself turning into an Ace of Cakes, or anything like it (though it looks like way more fun than my job!).
None the less, DH is totally in support of me going out and getting a new decorating set. My question is, do I want one of those decorating guns that looks so cool? Or do I want to stick with bags?
Guns look easy, assuming they keep working. But how much of a pain is it when you have multiple colors? Is it best to just stick with multiple bags and a good tip set?
Any advice?

trentsmom
01-11-2010, 02:00 PM
I don't know anything about the decorating guns, but I would think it would be easier to just use decorating bags and tips. I have a few of the Wilton bags, but I usually end up using a disposable bag. I took a cake decorating class years ago, and I bought this (http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?id=3E30BE52-475A-BAC0-588FEBD8D8DC2DD3&fid=3E32CA30-475A-BAC0-512F6BB5C28339F5) at a craft store using a 40% off coupon (I don't think the price in the store is as high as the price online.). It's nice having one place to store all of my tools.

catroddick
01-11-2010, 03:10 PM
hmm... that is a cool set, and I do have a 40% off coupon!

DietCokeLover
01-11-2010, 03:27 PM
I have the same kit as pp. I love having all my things together as well.

I would go with bags. They are inexpensive and you already said you have tips. I would just figure out a few pieces that you would get the most use out of (large tip for decorating cupcakes, small star tip for small decor, icing color, etc).