PDA

View Full Version : What is the difference between nightmares and night terrors?

HIU8
01-13-2010, 11:37 PM
and how do you know if your DC is having one?

DD just started waking up in the middle of the night and screaming bloody murder (I mean high pitched like she is scared type of scream). She is 2.5. She normally wakes up once a night to ask for something to drink and/or to go to the bathroom. She had surgery a week ago Tuesday (tonsils, adenoids and tubes) under general anesthesia. These middle of the night screams started two days after the surgery. Also, she doesn't open her eyes and is somewhat difficult to console. She does eventually fall back asleep (sometimes it has taken a few minutes, sometimes more). Anyone have experience with this? Are these nightmares or night terrors? What can I do to help her? Also, how long does this phase last (if it is a phase)? DS never went through anything like this, so I have no experience really.

bubbaray
01-13-2010, 11:39 PM
Sounds like night terrors. You're not supposed to wake them, just quietly comfort them, keep them safe. DD#1 had them, they are freaky until you get used to them. IIRC, they started around that age. Can't remember when they stopped, she d/n get them much now.

If they started that soon after the surgery, you might want to ask if it could be related. Its likely just coincidence, but d/n hurt to ask.

HIU8
01-13-2010, 11:46 PM
I am worried it has to do with the anesthesia. We go back for a post op visit tomorrow and I will be asking the ENT about it.

They are freaky. She sits up screams loud and a lot and squeezes he eyes shut. I have been rubbing her back and whispering in her ear until she finally lays back down and settles again.

billysmommy
01-13-2010, 11:47 PM