PDA

View Full Version : Are the last two days of 1st grade really important?

infomama
01-14-2010, 11:55 AM
My Alaskan cruise plan for my moms 70th had transformed into a family Disney cruise (thank goodness I have a year and a half to save). I can save $500 if we leave on a certain date but Dd1 will miss the last two days of 1st grade. Thoughts from mama's with former 1st graders please!

AnnieW625
01-14-2010, 12:01 PM
I don't think so, but I always had soo much fun the last week or so of school. The last day was always fun because we had some type of special lunch or snack. I wouldn't sweat the last two days as I am sure DD1 will have a great time on the cruise too:)

bw52
01-14-2010, 12:06 PM
I was a first grade teacher and I say they aren't important. Teachers are trying to get everything wrapped up and the kids are pretty much just watching movies and playing--fun for them, but not important. There is probably some fun party she'll miss, but I think only you would know if she would care about it or not. She'll prob hear about all the details in class as the rest of them get excited about it, so you'd have to decide if she'd be really sad if she knew she wasn't going to be there. If it were my own child, I'd focus on the cruise and get her really excited about that and leave early.

ETA: Ooh...I would tell the teacher in advance (at least a couple weeks), though, if she's not going to be there. I always hated it when I had stuff to send home (their school projects, maybe a gift, etc) and the child wasn't there. If I had known s/he wasn't going to be there I would have made sure they had gotten it earlier.

pinkmomagain
01-14-2010, 12:08 PM
I would totally go for it if I were you. Besides, the last day of school around my parts is just an hour!

nfowife
01-14-2010, 12:24 PM
she will miss nothing academically important. I agree, tell the teacher so she can send all her stuff home early. Have a great time!

egoldber
01-14-2010, 12:26 PM