PDA

View Full Version : Brother sewing machine $90, orig $150 - any feedback from sewers out there!?!

sewarsh
01-17-2010, 12:00 PM
I've been thinking about getting a sewing machine for some time now. i am a complete beginner so want an easy to use machine without too many complexities!

Any feedback??? Are Brother's good machines? Is this one in particular a good machine? Thanks!!!

http://www.amazon.com/Brother-XL2600I-25-Stitch-Free-Arm-Functions/dp/B000F7DPEQ/ref=sr_1_36?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1263743867&sr=1-36

jerigirl
01-17-2010, 12:16 PM
In general Brothers get mixed reviews at best. I am not personally familiar with this machine, but in a quick google search it seems to get positive reviews. Some did say that it has difficulty with thicker/several layers of material. What types of projects do you think that you will be doing?

sewarsh
01-17-2010, 12:37 PM
definately hemming pants (i'm 5'0''). would like to make felt food, puppets, etc. fix Teddy whose foot is hanging by some stuffing. eventually would love to make curtains, but who know when that will be. things like that i suppose...

canada
01-17-2010, 01:55 PM
There's also a $10 magazine rebate, bringing the total to $80.

sewarsh
01-17-2010, 01:56 PM
There's also a $10 magazine rebate, bringing the total to $80.

wow! thanks for pointing that out!

Andi98989
01-17-2010, 02:10 PM
It's a step up from the Brother machine that I have. I love mine - very easy to use and I haven't had any issues with it. I've used it to sew all sorts of things - felt halloween costumes, curtains, hemming, etc..

maiaann
01-17-2010, 02:43 PM