PDA

View Full Version : S/O career/sacrificing your family?

SM23Mama21
02-11-2010, 05:57 PM
If you do work, would you mind sharing what you do and how well it does/does not work with your family?

kijip
02-11-2010, 06:36 PM
I direct Development and Marketing efforts for a non-profit.

It works well with my family life.

daniele_ut
02-11-2010, 06:54 PM
I work in the field of entertainment/broadcast lighting. Until October I was working in a large performing arts/broadcast facility where I had been for over 5 years. I was offered an opportunity to work out of a home office doing sales and project management for a company that sells lighting systems to the entertainment and broadcast markets and I decided to take it because I knew that it would be a better choice for my family. The job has more flexible hours, I work a bit less than full time with benefits and I am making better money. My kids still go to Pre-K and daycare because I am in and out of the office on job sites and sales visits on various days, but when they are sick or we don't want to go anywhere, we have the luxury of staying home while I work.

I have to admit that working from home is harder than I ever thought it would be. It has its benefits, believe me, but it can be really lonely and isolating sometimes. I have wonderful friends at my old job and I miss them a lot. I do still work there on a limited basis for certain events, but it isn't the same!

egoldber
02-11-2010, 07:11 PM
My job itself is very family friendly. It's the commute that makes things a killer for us.

I am a statistician for a federal agency. I LOVE working for the government. Good benefits, mostly good people, very family friendly. I am not at a high level and may not ever be, but I'm OK with that. I'm doing interesting, meaningful work even if it isn't very glamorous.

Pre kids I was on a management fast track at a biotech company. It was a fun ride, but it would have been terrible with kids.

elephantmeg
02-11-2010, 07:39 PM