PDA

View Full Version : Do you or your DH wear a suit to work?

WatchingThemGrow
02-12-2010, 11:17 PM
Driving home from the gym (hot tub ritual for us) DH said that the people who live in the nice neighborhoods we passed through most likely wore suits to work. We looked around ours (in our heads) and we're pretty sure no one in ours wears a suit to work. It's kinda weird.

Do you wear one? Does your husband/wife? Do your neighbors?

daisymommy
02-12-2010, 11:27 PM
It's required wear for DH, along with a tie. He works in finances.

Edited to add that many, many people around here (Northern Virginia, outside of DC) wear suits--both men and women.

MamaMolly
02-12-2010, 11:29 PM
It depends on where DH is working. Currently he does not wear suits because we are in a very informal area. Prior to this he wore one every day. When we move for his job again we'll have to see!

When I was a teacher I rarely to never wore a suit. I think I only own about 4, mostly for interviews, funerals and those businessy kinds of occasions that would crop up. Now as a SAHM I don't think I've had one on in years!

trales
02-12-2010, 11:31 PM
DH does about half the time, law.

I never do, gotta love academia.

kijip
02-12-2010, 11:42 PM
My husband and I both own a fair number of suits. My husband used to work in a major department store and often wore a suit. I used to work for an old fashioned charitable organization with most of the donors being 60+ and I often had need to wear a suit.

Now my husband works in a pharmacy and never wears a suit, that would be very weird. He usually wears a shirt and tie and a sweater.