PDA

View Full Version : DD needs glasses - Any BTDT?

pinkmomagain
03-02-2010, 11:01 PM
I can't believe my little 4yo needs glasses :-( I know it's such a minor thing that I just need to get over, but I'm having a hard time with it. My oldest got glasses in maybe 4th grade (?) so I have no experience with little ones.

She has slight astigmatism in both eyes and her left eye vision is weaker than the right. The dr said she needs to wear them all the time except swimming and sleeping. I'm confused though...what about when she starts soccer next month? what about gymnastics? what about gym when she starts kindy in the fall? I got her little flexible wire frames...will they hold up? Should I get her a backup pair (they were suggesting that when I picked out her frames)?

TIA

mytwosons
03-02-2010, 11:20 PM
DS1 first got glasses when he was four. We also got the flexible frames and LOVE them. I was surprised, but the glasses stay on fine for soccer, rough play and gym class. I asked about getting a strap and was discouraged. I guess the straps can snap and then the kids associate the glasses with the pain from the snap.

We do have a back up pair. We got the identical frame. Next time, I think we might go with a cheaper spare. In three years, we've never broken the flexible frames. It is nice to have a spare pair around though when the first needs to be adjusted.

AnnieW625
03-02-2010, 11:28 PM
We just ordered DD her glasses too and she should be getting them this week. We did not get a back up pair. I am sure she'll do just fine with them ballet, daycare, and preschool. I was going to ask here about getting a strap too, but just haven't gotten around to it yet. I did get Transitions for free (insurance covered it) so that should be a good thing because DD spends a lot of time outside.

Jenny_A
03-02-2010, 11:44 PM