PDA

View Full Version : Please explain twitter to me.

neeleymartin
03-03-2010, 09:38 PM
do i need to belong/join?

is it like a message board without replies?

how do you use it? any creative uses?

Toba
03-03-2010, 09:44 PM
I do have a Twitter account, but only to follow a few people. I have *never* used it to "tweet." I can't remember if you need to join to follow people on Twitter ... that might be why I actually signed up because I knew I would never use it. I do know that there are several "friends" on Facebook that I WISH would use Twitter instead of telling me every minute detail of your daily life.

hillview
03-03-2010, 09:46 PM
I use it for work at conferences etc to talk about cool things my company is doing.

Outside work I wouldn't bother.
/hillary

bigpassport
03-03-2010, 09:49 PM
I am not a Twitter expert. The only thing I twit/tweet/whatever is MamaBargains.com. I have it sent to my cell phone as a text message every time there's a new Mama Bargain.

lizzywednesday
03-03-2010, 09:50 PM
I use it in lieu of IM for a bunch of friends I wouldn't chat with otherwise.

All of my tweets are protected, which means in order to read my tweets you need to follow me. I only follow people I know IRL.

I am pretty sure that you can read the public stream without joining.

Lots of businesses are using it as quickie advertising and I know WPIX-11 in the NYC area is using it to enhance their news broadcasts (a friend follows them) so there are people expanding their uses of it every day.

One of the most bizarre ones I read about is a woman in the UK who tweets recipes. Entire recipes. In 140 characters or less.

neeleymartin
03-03-2010, 11:47 PM
thanks for all the info.

i tried twice to figure it out by searching for relevant to me topics. the results are wacky.

i give up.

Jo..
03-03-2010, 11:56 PM