PDA

View Full Version : Another "pink" question

jent
03-09-2010, 11:44 PM
So, DD has recently decided "my favorite color is pink". She has asked for pink bedding for her big girl bed, which we are planning to get her for her 3rd birthday. So far, no problem. But, way back when we bought her furniture, I was thinking gender-neutral and we bought a nice honey-brown finished set for her room. Now that I'm shopping beds & bedding, everything I see for girls' rooms is with white furniture & I'm thinking that it won't really "go" with the light brown wood that we already have. I am not good at picturing how stuff will look in my head, and I haven't found a single girls' room with anything but white furniture.

So, I'm debating whether to buy a bed that matches what we've got, or get a white bed and either paint or resell/rebuy/reuse what we have. That wouldn't actually be that bad b/c our bookcases are still unfinished (long story), so it really just amounts to changing out her dresser.

It doesn't help that I just came back from a visit to a friend that had her DD's room totally done in a beautiful PBK style & now I'm lusting after that look.

bubbaray
03-10-2010, 12:07 AM
Well, if you can afford it, personally *I* like the pink with white look. I'd probably just buy new stuff in white if it were me.

GL!

MamaMolly
03-10-2010, 12:28 AM
What about white bedding with pink accents? That way you could keep what you have (if you want to ;)) though I also love the white furniture look too.

sarahsthreads
03-10-2010, 12:39 AM
Huh. We have honey furniture for DD1 (my childhood bedroom set) and she has pink, lime green, and white with bright flowers sheet sets, and a crazy rainbow striped comforter. I would never have thought about pink not working with honey/light brown furniture...?

Sarah :)

Neatfreak
03-10-2010, 01:36 AM