PDA

View Full Version : how much maternity leave did you have pre baby?

AnnieW625
03-26-2010, 01:53 PM
Just curious. With DD I was suppose to have 2 full weeks, but she was born 4 days later (I was already 4 cm dialated) so now for this one I am debating about how much time I should take off. If I do the full 4 weeks I am entitled to then the baby is early (no indication yet if that will be the case) I will have had at least 2 weeks off. If I do 3 weeks then I'll have at least a week. If I only do 2 then I am afraid I am not going to have anytime or should I just plan on that in case the baby is up to 2 weeks late. WWYD, and what did you do?

I have been working pretty much since four days after I graduated from college and part of the reason I only did 2 weeks last time was that my dr. said in most cases the working moms he took off work at 4 weeks (what can be given by a dr. for non bed rest patients in CA pre delivery and what I can qualify for wage wise pre delivery) would only last a few days before wanting to go back to work. I personally think that with 4 weeks I might get a little bored, but I'll get paid for 10 or so days at my full pay and then I'll get SDI until the dr. releases me back to work so I might as well take advantage of the benefit, kwim? I am also looking forward to a little me time, but just curious what I'll actually do with myself beside maybe a few trips to the mall or LA or maybe finally catch up with my cousin whose due a week after me.

I voted other for the 4 days I did have.

My entire maternity leave including pre baby ran for 16 weeks as I used 7 weeks of sick leave, and then a combo of 8 weeks of vacation and unpaid leave. This time it will be about the same amount of time I think, maybe a few weeks less.

bubbaray
03-26-2010, 01:57 PM
52 weeks, 12 months, 1 year, however you want to count.... I was bored, but was bored after the first week.

doberbrat
03-26-2010, 01:59 PM