PDA

View Full Version : Request for input in setting up EI speech plan

longamkl
04-09-2010, 01:07 PM
Yesterday, my 18.5 month old boy/girl twins were evaluated for their speech development among other things and they qualify as being behind. It makes me very sad but at the same time, so grateful that we do qualify for getting help. I have really needed a break lately. Apparently, the next step is that we meet with a coordinator to develop the plan/goals etc. We can establish the frequency of the therapy and so on. Does anyone have any experience with this that they would like to share? I certainly don't have any.

A little bit about us: The twins were born at 37 weeks and did have some feeding issues in the beginning. We did briefly see a SLP for my son's feeding issues (tongue control and sucking issues) and she really did help. They have overcome any semblance of feeding issues and are now 95th and 75th percentile. I'm an engineer turned stay at home mom and so our schedule is flexible. I would have considered our home environment rich for learning to speak. It's not that I prattle away to them all day but we do read together, attend classes together, listen to music together etc. Their receptive language was good - my daughter at 21 mos. and my son at 15 mos. Their spoken language was evaluated as 10 mos. for my daughter and 8 mos. for my son.

Yesterday, I didn't even know what EI was (besides Employment Insurance in Canada) and now today I'm in it. And thank goodness. My son's lack of language definitely affects all of us - he has severe temper tantrums.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what we should include in our plan? Thanks for any help.

sste
04-09-2010, 01:16 PM
I think a pretty common goal is to have age-appropriate expressive speech in the next 6-12 months (depending on amount of delay - - if your twins have a 40-50% delay I would think a reasonable goal is in a year).