PDA

View Full Version : Outfit for 1990's party

toby
04-12-2010, 11:28 AM
I am going to a party this weekend and we are supposed to dress like we did in 1990 (I was 20 yrs then). For all I know, I still dress the same! :) I am a little confused by what I am finding on the internet.

I would love some suggestions- the simpler the better (maybe involving jeans...)
Thanks!

Maggie'sMom
04-12-2010, 11:30 AM
You could do the whole Seattle Grunge look with jeans and plaid maybe.

♥ms.pacman♥
04-12-2010, 11:31 AM
ooh, how fun! i love 80s/90s theme parties!

the first thing that comes to mind is hair...big bangs, lots of Aquanet. hair scrunchies.

in terms of clothing..overalls were in then. so were mc hammer pants (or was that late 80s? cant remember)

eta: fanny packs were big then. so were those necklaces that had soap/water in them that u could blow bubbles with. not sure where you'd find those anymore though.

maylips
04-12-2010, 11:36 AM
High waisted Guess jeans. I graduated HS in 1991 and when I think back on my wardrobe, for some reason my shirts were HUGE for me. I have no idea why I did that and would kill for the body I had back then, but apparently I hid everything under large shirts when x-small really fit.

♥ms.pacman♥
04-12-2010, 11:41 AM
^ oh yeah, how could i forget, Guess jeans! especially high waisted, and tight-fitted everywhere else. in early 90s i was in middle school and i remember getting teased cuz i wasn't wearing those high-waisted Guess jeans like all the "popular" girls..i begged my mom to buy me a pair but she thought $50 for jeans was ridiculous. lol

and now that u mention big t-shirts, another thing i remembered that was big in the 90s..leggings and stirrup pants, with oversize t-shirts. i was reading a pregnancy book and it recommended buying stirrup maternity pants as a "staple" for the wardrobe and i was like wha ???? and i checked the publication date and it was published in 1995! no wonder! hehe

marge234
04-12-2010, 01:20 PM