PDA

View Full Version : HELP: Eczema on the Face?

ChefGirl
04-12-2010, 10:28 PM
My 2yo DS has had this rash on his face especailly around his eyes for about 2 weeks now. I thought it may be seasonal allergy related. He gets the same type of rash when he's sweaty and hot around his neck. But, it seems like it's not going away. I've try to flare it down by using Aquarphor. Obviously it's itchy bad b/c he rubs his eyes all the time.....Yikes...anyone has any similiar experience. I called the ped's office and the nurse says just to use the vaseline type of lotion since it's around the eyes. You can tell he's miserable...poor thing. we also did Benadryl at night too....

Thanks.

boltfam
04-12-2010, 10:46 PM
I am no medical expert and don't deal with allergies a bunch, but I've had a rash around my eyes myself that sounds really similar. Any chance he could have been exposed to poison ivy, sumac, or oak? You would think if it was one of those that it would spread to other parts of the body, but maybe? Otherwise, has he been wearing sunglasses or anything? I never figured out what caused my rash, but it did go away eventually.

I hope it goes away soon so your poor little DS can be comfortable again. Good luck!

DrSally
04-12-2010, 10:47 PM
IDK, If it's only when he sweats, it may be miliaria? http://emedicine.medscape.com/article/1070840-overview

MamaSnoo
04-12-2010, 10:50 PM
DD does get eczema under her eyes. It responds to Cerave, which is what works best for flares on her body as well. You could try some of the barrier that you like best for the body.....unfortunately, in DDs case, it is really hard to clear up. Sorry I am not more help.

amandabea
04-12-2010, 10:59 PM