PDA

View Full Version : Sponsoring adults' races/walks/bike rides etc...

TwinFoxes
04-13-2010, 11:20 AM
It seems like this spring I'm getting hit up more frequently to sponsor someone for some activity or another. I honestly don't know how I feel about this. Most are good causes. But some charities I would never think of sponsoring on my own (like a Chicago-area animal shelter). One of the charities is extremely well known, but from my time as a journalist I also know a lot of money raised goes into administration, very little goes into charitable works.

But all that aside, the whole sponsorship thing is just kind of annoying to me, and I don't quite know why. This isn't really a bitch, I'm not mad at anyone, it just bugs me. I'm just curious how others feel about being solicited for sponsorships. These have come from my SIL (sent today for a walk coming up on Saturday, so clearly this isn't something near and dear to her heart), good friend from college, former work colleagues, etc. I'm going to support a couple that I think are worthwhile.

elliput
04-13-2010, 11:34 AM
Personally, I only do one or two sponsorships a year and they are for charities which are near and dear to my heart. These are charities for which I would make a donation to anyway regardless if they held a walk, run, canoe race or whatever.

Fairy
04-13-2010, 11:43 AM