PDA

View Full Version : Help me sleeptrain my baby (nursing all night long)

marit
05-04-2010, 01:22 PM
I can't believe this is my third baby and I still haven't figured it out :(

Our third baby is the first one I put in our bed at night (and the last). She is 8 months old and nurses 4-5 times a night. It's got to stop! She has a cradle next to my bed (which she is outgrowing as we speak). I now nurse her sitting up so that we won't fall asleep attached, and I put her back in her cradle.

My issue is that she eats so much at night I don't feel I can just go "cold turkey" with these feedings because she'll be hungry. She eats less during the day because of that.

How do I gradually wean her from night feedings? I read somewhere that I need to do that first before the actual "sleep training".

I need some "system" or rule for the gradual weaning. I am so tired I can't come up with one myself.

Thank you!

PMJ
05-04-2010, 01:31 PM
I am by no means an expert .... but here are some things I have tried (from Doc's suggestions and others)

1) Does she have her own room she can start sleeping in? She might be waking up b/c she "smells" the milk. She probably is not really hungry. I remember reading somewhere that 85-90% of infants will still drink milk at night if it is offered, even though they are not hungry.

{ We moved DD upstairs about 2.5 months ago and I do notice a difference in her sleep. She still does wake up 1-2 times a night, usually at 11:30 pm and again around 3, but it is way better than clock work every 3 hours }.

2) What is the longest time (hours) she has gone through the night? Often, they say if a baby can sleep for ex. from 10 pm - 4 am one night, that you should NOT feed them again during this time period b/c they don't need it. It's hard, but maybe DH can go in to sooth her back to sleep and not you.

3) Have you tried reading Dr. Weissbluth's book - Healthy Sleep, Happy Child?