PDA

View Full Version : Can someone help me to explain the not sitting in a carseat too long issue to DBF

sunnyside
05-06-2010, 07:44 PM
Before he gets thoroughly annoyed with me.

I was hoping to get a stroller that the baby can go in from day one, but we'd decided to get a Maclaren Easy Traveler and now when I bring it up, he thinks I'm nuts for not wanting to walk through the park in it. I'm not sure there is anything truly wrong with using the Mac ET for a few months until she can go in the Bob, but I know nothing. I'm a rookie.

Can someone just tell me what the issue is so I can tell him. The only thing I can say is she might get a flat head and when I say that, he wants to know the difference between likelihood of getting a flat head in the car seat and a flat head lying flat in the stroller. I have to admit it sounds like hogwash.

Thanks!

SnuggleBuggles
05-06-2010, 07:48 PM
There is a valid study about baby's airway being restricted while in the carseat position. It is an issue for babies more at risk (preemies...) but it makes me personally want to limit carseat time to when in the car. I really had no trouble transferring baby from car to carrier or stroller and around the neighborhood I wouldn't go get the carseat to take a walk.

In the stroller the baby has more ways to move around and hold their head so there is less flat head chance. Again, the flat head issue wasn't my motivation for not using the carseat when out for walks though.

Beth

wellyes
05-06-2010, 08:02 PM
I've seen babies wearing helmets to try to reshape their heads due to the 'flat head' thing and it's not good. Having said that, I don't think a walk in the park with a Snap-and-Go type stroller will do any harm at all. I used a stroller like that with newborn DD often even though I had a bassinet. She HATED lying flat on her back from day 1.