PDA

View Full Version : Where do you shop?

cvanbrunt
06-24-2010, 07:06 PM
I need ideas. I must be missing out on some stores and designers because I'm not finding much these days. I need to bulk up my wardrobe because I'm 2 or 3 sizes smaller that I was a year ago. I'm a professor so pretty much anything goes although I prefer professional (but not suits) on campus. Off campus, I like to be stylish but age appropriate. I'm forty. I cringe a tiny bit less each time I say that. So, here's where I have found stuff:
JCrew, Banana Republic, Boden, Anthropologie, and Bluefly. From Bluefly I like Nanette Lepore, Casual Couture by Green Envelope, and Free People (tops that aren't skimpy). I have some stuff from Ann Taylor but their stuff is really boring lately. I like Yoana Baraschi stuff as well.
I live in Indy so there are the standard department stores like Macy's, Nordstrom's, and Saks. Any stores, designers, or websites I should check out? I'm at the point in my life where I will spend money for quality and fit. Thanks!

Oh yeah. I'm short. 5'2 so I try to get petite stuff but will alter really good pieces.

hillview
06-24-2010, 07:22 PM
Call nordies. Ask them to put a dressing room together for you of (what you said below) within a price of (your price range). Go in and try it all on. LOVE to do this!
/hillary

mommylamb
06-24-2010, 07:24 PM
I totally agree with you about Ann Taylor. I used to buy a ton of stuff from them, but I have really disliked their lines for at least a year or so now. They've gone way down hill. I've been buying more from Boden and Banana Republic than I used to and less from Ann Taylor and Ann Taylor Loft.

cvanbrunt
06-24-2010, 07:40 PM
I just hate the new cuts for the pants. I could always wear the Lindsay pant and now, its a crapshoot. So I just quit trying. Glad to hear someone else is underwhelmed.

viba424
06-24-2010, 08:11 PM