PDA

View Full Version : Which Hotrock would you choose?

MommyofAmaya
06-27-2010, 07:36 PM
After careful study of the various threads here, I have decided to get Amaya a Hotrock. We went to the bike shop and she was able to pedal right away (with training wheels on, she is a total beginner). She hasn't been able to move on any of the other cheaper bikes we've tried. I don't think we will even need to shave the post on the 16".

My options are:

1. New for $199. $100/credit at trade-up.

2. Craigslist used 2009 model for $100. No training wheels. I will need to buy elsewhere.

3. Craigslist used 2006(?) model for $125. Comes with training wheels and Giro helmet (which may be too big right now).

4. Craigslist used 2005 model for $70.

The older models look like they are in great shape, but I don't know if they might be heavier/bulkier/taller than the current one. I'd also prefer a gender neutral color if I buy used, but there are not any available atm. Any ideas?

KrisM
06-27-2010, 07:50 PM
Is there a limit on when you can get the $100 credit? If not, I'd do that. You'll probably get 4 or maybe 5 years out of it between the 2 kids. And, after the credit, it costs about the same as the used bikes do. Actually, even without the credit, you will probably be able to sell it in 4 or 5 years for around $100.

MommyofAmaya
06-27-2010, 07:57 PM
Is there a limit on when you can get the $100 credit? If not, I'd do that. You'll probably get 4 or maybe 5 years out of it between the 2 kids. And, after the credit, it costs about the same as the used bikes do. Actually, even without the credit, you will probably be able to sell it in 4 or 5 years for around $100.

The time limit is 24 months. So I'd probably be trading up before passing it down. Hmmmm.

KrisM
06-29-2010, 09:50 AM
The time limit is 24 months. So I'd probably be trading up before passing it down. Hmmmm.