PDA

View Full Version : In a dinner rut. Need ideas

HIU8
06-30-2010, 01:16 PM
I am so in a rut when it comes to dinner. I'm actually sick of cooking b/c of it.

We don't mix milk and meat. DH can't do raw veggies, salad and some cooked veggies. My kids are picky (and I am a short order cook). I am in a rut with sides as well.

HELP!

zoestargrove
06-30-2010, 03:36 PM
I hate when I'm in a cooking rut. You have some tough parameters to work around. No wonder you don't feel inspired.

give me an idea of some of the dinners that you cook often and are sick of. What is your dh's favorite? I'm sure we can give you alternatives.

Pepper
06-30-2010, 04:09 PM
Yes, more info please to help me think of things...What kinds of things *will* your kids eat? Will they eat "international" food, or do you have to stick with your basic American fare?

I'm impressed that you even make sides - it's pretty much one-pot meals around here, or one thing made fresh with various leftovers to accompany :-)

fivi2
06-30-2010, 04:36 PM
I like to look at a new cookbook when I am in a rut. I usually check out of the library. Or I dig through my old recipes that I have forgotten or have fallen by the wayside. Meal planning helps me because I think of "theme nights" and then I remember things that fall into those categories. (soup night, "fast food" night - homemade burgers, tacos, pizzas, etc, chicken night, mexican food night, breakfast for dinner night, new recipe night, casserole night, etc.) Thinking of fun themes might get you excited - try a new ingredient, a new style of cooking, recipes from a different part of the country or a new country.

I would still offer veggies as one of the sides for you and the kids, even if dh can't eat them.

What sort of things do you guys enjoy?

HIU8
06-30-2010, 09:35 PM
Here is what I normally make: it's not normally with a salad b/c DH can't eat salad (so I have gotten away from them as well).