PDA

View Full Version : do i need a doula?

avalonmom
07-30-2010, 12:22 PM
I'm a newbie on this site and 25 weeks pg. I was wondering how you decide if you need/want a doula? It seems like everyone on here uses one, but I have also heard that it can be quite costly. I'm not sure if i will be having a natural birth or will use intervention. I am having a hospital birth. But that's all I know and would welcome your thoughts on pros/cons of using one. Thanks!

BabyBearsMom
07-30-2010, 12:39 PM
I didn't have a Doula but I did have a midwife. I ended up having an emergency c-section so my plan for delivery by midwife didn't happen, but it was wonderful having her there. She stayed with me through the entire surgery, even when my husband had to leave the room. Since we were in an emergency situation, she was able to translate all of the doctor speak going on around me and keep me calm. After DD was born, and what happened sunk in, I realized that I probably should have been terrified, but her calming presence kept my whits about me. The best part about the midwife was that since she is employed by my OB's office, her presence was covered by our insurance. If I didn't have access to a midwife, I would definitely consider a doula. I always planned to have an epidural, if that makes a difference.

wellyes
07-30-2010, 01:04 PM
I think threads about doulas are like threads about being anti-vaccine. A very vocal minority posts about it a lot which makes it seem much more common than it it.

I don't mean that in a negative way..... the majority doesn't need a venue like these forums the way people who make unusual choices sometimes do. I only write that to say I sincerely doubt most posters here had a doula. I'm sure plenty did but it's not commonplace.

I didn't have one, but I would have seriously looked into it if I wanted a drug-free childbirth and did not have a great midwife (I personally did have a great midwife :)).