PDA

View Full Version : What Happens at the Pyschologist Vist?

Indianamom2
08-01-2010, 10:22 PM
We have the name of a child pyschologist that our pedi recommended for DD#1. She has some major anxiety issues and as others in our family do as well, we want to get her help now, if at all possible.

I plan to call to set up an appt/consultation this week, but I've never done anything like this before. What happens? Do they typically consult with the parents first? Do they take the child somewhere separate from the parents during regular visits? Basically, I'm just wondering if someone can give me some idea of what to expect.

Thanks.

lalasmama
08-01-2010, 11:02 PM
Being a foster child, La has been to several mental health professionals (MHP) over the last 5-ish years.

IME, the initial consult visit will have parent/s speaking to MHP seperate from the child, then the child seperate from the parent/s, then every one together. They want to have the parent/s' input as to what the parent is hoping to accomplish, why they feel they need the services of a MHP, etc. And they bring the child back seperately to assess some general things, depending on the child's age. (I totally missed looking for your child's age.)

Once actual therapy starts, it's all age and issue dependant. In our case, early on, it was parenting help for me--learning to "reparent" a child who had a rough start at things, learning life-skills for dealing with an high needs child, etc. Now that we've gotten settled, I've found my parenting "sea-legs" so to speak, we don't do counseling. We still see a MHP for prescribing medications and when there's an issue I don't know how to deal with.