PDA

View Full Version : SF bay area (east side)

brgnmom
08-10-2010, 02:13 PM
my DH may have a job offer in the east side of the SF bay area, so we may be moving again in less than a year. Can anyone offer advice/feedback about Emeryville, Concord, Fremont, Pleasanton, Walnut Creek, or San Leandro? I grew up in the SF bay area, but in a different section of the bay area completely, so I'm unfamiliar w/ the east side. I'd appreciate your help. Thank you.

crl
08-10-2010, 02:37 PM
We are in the city so I'm far from an expert. But I pretty consistently hear good things about Walnut Creek schools. Emeryville is pretty, umm, I guess industrial is the word I'm looking for. I think it was on a gentrification kick until the housing market burst.

Catherine

♥ms.pacman♥
08-10-2010, 02:39 PM
i'm sure people will have great advice here but for this kind of question (comparison between various cities), i think city-data.com forums are really helpful as well. i remember using those forums a lot when we were moving, to get advice on neighborhoods, schools, etc.

katydid1971
08-10-2010, 02:47 PM
Which city is you husband's offer because those towns are kinda spread out. If its on the west side of the tunnel then I would consider Berkeley or Alameda, both have great schools. I use to live in Alameda and LOVED it, if DH got a good enough offer I would love to move back there. If you are on the east side of the tunnel Walnut Creek, Danville, Pleasanton, etc. are all nice but not very diverse. I personally wouldn't consider Emmeryville or San Leandro. Oakland has some great neighborhoods (but some ghetto ones too of course). That being said my two top East Bay cities would be Alameda and Walnut Creek hands down!!!!

brgnmom
08-10-2010, 02:58 PM