PDA

View Full Version : Help Me Get Rid of Things!

kransden
08-12-2010, 09:43 PM
I need a pep talk!
I am trying to downsize my clutter. For instance. I have a bundt cake pan. I have never made a bundt cake in my entire life and I am 44. It needs to go, but I hesitate. How many extra/old towels do I need?

Please inspire me to be more practical with my possessions. I need some help!

maiaann
08-12-2010, 09:49 PM
I need a pep talk!
I am trying to downsize my clutter. For instance. I have a bundt cake pan. I have never made a bundt cake in my entire life and I am 44. It needs to go, but I hesitate.

I love it! I have a few of those items too! :bighand:

I'm not very good at downsizing either, so I'm curious to see what others day!

crl
08-12-2010, 09:58 PM
Just get rid of that stuff. It's not like you can't buy it again if you suddenly become a prize-winning baker who desperately needs a bundt pan for the state fair.

Did that help?

Catherine

KrisM
08-12-2010, 09:58 PM
Get rid of it. You'll feel better having the clutter gone. You'll help someone else who wants to make a Bundt cake :).

Once you start, it's easy to purge. I'm making a weekend of it this weekend. I have boxes and bags ready to go. But, I started 18 months ago and I started by taking 3 garbage bags a day and walking around the house. I'd either do trash or donate and I'd walk around for 10-15 minutes (whatever the kids gave me) and fill the bags as quickly as I could. This helped declutter quickly and it gave me less time to debate with myself.

If you ever decide you need to make a Bundt cake, I bet you could buy another pan or borrow one from a friend.

wellyes
08-12-2010, 10:03 PM
I'm going through a purge right now. I'm not sorting and organizing, I'm not planning a garage sale or putting up CL ads, I'm just giving away or throwing away box after box. It is SO satisfying. So satisfying. I'm tired of being burdened by stuff that I don't use, that doesn't make make my life better.