PDA

View Full Version : UPDATE: my total screw-up of DS's preschool experience!

sste
08-17-2010, 01:54 PM
UPDATE: I just got the last available spot in the class! DS will be moving up to the preschool room on Sept 1. Thank you everyone for urging me to talk to the director - - if I had waited any longer DS would not have gotten the slot and she told me that DS would have been in the toddler room for the entire year for sure. They were very nice about it - - I told them I have never done any kind of move-up before and had not done the best job with the process and now I was beside myself because DS missed his friends so much. Then THEY brought up his missing Sally so much as apparently he has told everyone from Director to Lunch Staff about how Sally moved up and DS did not!
-----------------------------------------------------

I am actually embarrassed to post in the lounge because you have all heard so much of this continuing saga . . .

When I last left it, DH and I had decided that with new baby coming and DS's strong attachment to his teacher and the 2 teacher:13 kid ratio and the fact that he is always the youngest in a given room he should just stay in the Toddler room (2 year olds). DS is turning 3 in early November and had previously been the youngest by 3 or 4 months in the toddler room.

The second preschool room for three-four year olds has 20 kids and we were TOLD there were only 2 teachers. Though we just found out that is the "cap" but there are normally 3-4 teachers/assistants in there. We were also NOT told that basically the entire toddler class would shift up to the three year old preschool room. And that they had changed things so that Aug/Sept was the time to shift otherwise the child may need to stay in their room for the academic year (rather than moving up by birthday)!!