PDA

View Full Version : need help helping my kids with homework

blisstwins
09-13-2010, 10:50 PM
My twins are in kindergarden and we had homework for the first time tonight. It was a disaster and mostly my fault. My son was rushing and would not concentrate and I was losing my temper. The homework is ridiculous--practicing letters (easy) and writing the titles of the books we read together. My son struggled with this--spaces between words, keeping letter consistant size, not reversing b and ds. I have a feeling these problems are normal and I wish he did not need to write so much (titles are hard because of capitalization, etc). Do I let him to it however, even it it is really wrong. Do I correct him by having him erase his work? If he is doing it wrong do we keep practicing until it is right or do we stop once we have done the amount prescribed in the assignment (ed 1 line of letters)? My son cried and I thought I was going to scream. I am a teacher (much older kids) which I think makes this even harder. I am burnt out when I get home and don't feel like formally teaching....

Momof3Labs
09-13-2010, 10:54 PM
All of his struggles sound soooo normal for a new (and even seasoned) kindergartner! My DS1 learned a lot by modeling what he saw - so, he'd see his teacher space things a certain way, and model that. The right answer depends on the child, I think, but I'd be inclined to let him make his mistakes, but perhaps write it properly on your own piece of paper and let him see it.

Tondi G
09-14-2010, 12:30 AM
Let him do his work. If it is incorrect then you can help him to erase and write the letter the right way. I wouldn't stress about the size or his letters being perfectly even. I'm surprised the teacher is having them write the titles with the upper and lower case letters etc. already. (But we just started school today... you may be 4 to 6 weeks into your school year)