PDA

View Full Version : The Pledge Of Allegiance if you don't believe

infomama
09-15-2010, 12:39 AM
The cub scout thread got me wondering.
I don't know anyone IRL who does not believe in God but since this community differs I wanted to ask......do you/your dc say the Pledge? Do you just remain silent when the 'under God' portion is spoken?

xmasbabycomin
09-15-2010, 01:09 AM
I do believe in God now, but went through a time in school (as a student and a teacher) when I didn't. Both circumstances were a bit uncomfortable, but honestly, it's such a rote, often seemingly meaningless process by even 5th grade (which I taught) and 12th grade+ (when I was an agnostic student) that people don't really notice what you do or don't really say. It was hard to force tired kids to get up, stand at attention and respect something that had a couple of words in it which I just left out. I felt hypocritical. I was glad the flag was at the opposite side of the room of my desk, so if the kids looked at me, I'd remind them to face the flag. It was brought up again when we studied coins and found "In God We Trust," but then talked about the religious issues in England that helped push our country to be founded. Fortunately but unfortunately, it wasn't an especially high functioning group so things didn't get too complex, but that was just a fifth grade level!

I remember as a senior, when I was doubting a higher power, a girl in my homeroom (when we said the pledge), wrote this editorial for the newspaper about how insensitive and uncaring the children who didn't say the pledge were. It spouted out a lot of patriotic cliches, and I just loathed her for it. I'm not saying now that she was wrong, it's just how I felt at the time.