PDA

View Full Version : s/o-parents of children with anxiety-I have a question

JustMe
09-17-2010, 12:01 PM
What do you look for in a therapist for your child? Also, what have you learned that is the most helpful to your child in terms of managing anxiety? I ask because I am a therapist myself, but am having a hard time finding someone who is a good match for dd and dont have that much professional experience in helping school aged children with general anxiety. Dd does have a mix of adoption related issues and anxiety, and unfortunately the one and only therapist where we live who really truly seems to get the adoption-related issues (others say they do and may have training, experience, but really dont get it), is just not a good match for dd's temperament. So, I have come to the conclusion that dd and I just need to work on the adoption related issues ourselves (which I am trained and qualified to do, just was hoping for support and to have an objective person/therapist be involved), but will get help from a therapist for the anxiety related issues...I do not want someone who puts dd on a behavior plan, those are useless to us.

StantonHyde
09-17-2010, 01:11 PM
Rats--I was going to say having a good therapist who works a lot with kids and is kind and supportive. But I don't have the adoption angle going on and I know from friends how key that can be.

As for what helps at home--the Freeing YOur Child from Anxiety book was great for me but you already know all that from being a therapist yourself!

I think you are right that you are going to have to find a therapist who can help in one area and then maybe you supplement in the others. You may have to cast a wider net as well--e.g. travel further to see someone.

Have you hashed this out with your colleagues?

egoldber
09-17-2010, 01:15 PM