PDA

View Full Version : Teach me how to pump on the go!

BigDog
09-27-2010, 09:46 AM
I'm new to pumping as I wasn't able to BF DS1, but now with DS2 it's working out really well. Anyhow, what's the best way to pump while out and about? I have the Lansinoh double electric pump that I use at home but was wondering if I should get a manual pump for when I'm out? I'm a pretty modest person so I would be pumping in the comforts of my car most likely. This weekend we're planning on taking DS1 to a pumpkin patch/hayride and then out to lunch. My parents will be watching the baby so I'll need to pump while we're out. So please educate this modest first-timer! Thx!

Andi98989
09-27-2010, 10:16 AM
I got a car adapter for my Medela pump; I pumped in the car ALL the time. Using a nursing cover will be your best bet. I would slip my handsfree bustier (a Simple Wishes) on under my shirt while my bra was still fastened, then I could open up my bra flaps. Then I would put on the nursing cover, put on the shields and I was good to go.

wendibird22
09-27-2010, 10:27 AM
I've pumped in my car quite a bit. Here's my rules of thumb...

1. When possible park away from everyone else and in a location where someone can't park facing you (yes, I've had an old guy park opposite me and stare at what I was doing).

2. When possible climb into the back seat...your less noticeable there and I find it more comfortable than a front seat.

3. Get car adaptor or bring fresh set of batteries with you and use a double electric. You want the process to be as fast and efficient as possible. IME, a manual pump isn't as efficient and tends to be more work. Since you have a double already, I'd use it.

4. Use a nursing cover or wear clothes that are easy to cover up with (tank with a hoodie or cardigan).

5. Bring a magazine or something to look at...it makes that 15-20mins stuck in your car go by so much faster.

catsnkid
09-27-2010, 12:40 PM