PDA

View Full Version : Need input/advice from parents of children with special needs...

happymom
09-27-2010, 11:59 AM
I am a special ed teacher for 3-4 year old children. I teach an integrated class with half special ed children, and half regular ed children. I have been wanting to ask this question for a long time-

Very often, I notice issues or delays in children that their parents are not yet aware of. Often it is even the regular ed children who present with real issues that their parents are completewly oblivious too. It breaks my heart to tell the parents about my concerns, but obviously that is my job. I am not referring to more minor issues like language or fine motor delays. I mostly mean children who appear to be on the autistic spectrum.

My job is to gently mention this to parents and encourage them to have their child evaluated.

My question for you is, what do you think is the best way to approach this with parents? How would you have liked to have been approached about this? I'm concerned about the subtle things that may be hurtful that maybe I don't realize. So I guess I'm asking about both "do's" and "don'ts".

Thanks so much for your input.

pinkmomagain
09-27-2010, 01:07 PM
When my middle daughter entered nursery school at 3yo, the classroom teacher had to approach me and tell me that it appeared she had delays and she should be evaluated. While it hit me very hard, I don't know that any parent is completely oblivious...there is that little voice inside that feels like there might be something off....

First, I would never ever offer a dx or a possibility of a dx. At that age, many responsible professionals would hesitate to dx that early. At 3 and 4, my dd easily appeared to be on the spectrum (stimming, no eye contact, awkward socially, fine and gross motor delays....), however many years later she was dx'd with ADHD & Anxiety.