PDA

View Full Version : I am Room Mother'ing with a Lunatic.

Fairy
09-29-2010, 10:50 AM
I dunno what to do about this one. My room mom partner in DS's K class is ... nutty. I put my name on the list with the other 8 moms who signed up never thinking I'd get picked, yet I did. I am spread sooooo thin, I dunno what I was thinking. I was not thinking, that's what it was. Well, when they called me, I said ok but decided to turn it down; but then I met the other room mom that got picked, and she was great, so I said, ok, I'll do it. Well, that was a mistake. I've been doing tihs for 5 years at DS's private day school, and I know what I'm doing. My approach is that the teacher is the boss, we don't do things she says no to. Other chick's approach is the opposite, she's beholden to us -- and she hates this teacher. Also, this teacher is a first time teacher, second career (she's maybe 35) with 2 kids under 5 at home, herself, and she has 2.5 hours to get everything done in a class. For me, I'm cutting her some slack, cuz there have been some issues, but these things happen. Other chick is fit to be tied, hates this woman. Great.

To further muddy the waters, the PTO is telling us one thing, the teacher is telling us another, and it's clear those two entities are not talking. Taht's a problem.

The big problem for me is that:

* She's a screamer ("WE'RE GREEK! THAT'S HOW WE TALK! I YELL, IT'S JUST MY WAY!!!") Really? Cuz you're kind of scaring me, and I don't work well with people yelling at me.