PDA

View Full Version : Anyone a SAHM with nanny?

williams44
11-05-2010, 08:09 PM
I have a 13 month old, and I work part-time. My boss, however, just decided that he needed a full-time person and so I'm out of a job.

I know I'm not supposed to say this, but I really can't be a full-time stay at home mom. It would drive me crazy. I know that sounds bad, but I've found that I'm just not cut out for it. Maybe when she gets older, I'll feel differently, but for now, I know I can't stay home full-time. It's just not for me.

I'm fortunate that I don't actually have to work if I don't want to. My husband makes enough to support us (he's a radiologist). So, now I'm faced with a decision. Do I look for another part-time job? That's very hard in my field (I'm a lawyer), and especially in this economy. I don't want to work full-time because I feel that I couldn't justify being away that much from my child, knowing that I don't actually have to work. Plus, I don't like being a lawyer all that much.

My other option is to stay at home with a part-time nanny. We already have one on the days that I currently work. My husband thinks we should keep her because good nannies are hard to come by and our daughter is already used to her. Here's my issue. I feel guilty if I were to stay home and have a nanny. It's funny because I don't think guys feel that way as much. But I feel guilt if I'm away from my daughter unnecessarily. That's probably not healthy. If I were not working, I feel like I should be with my child, instead of hiring someone else to be with her.

And there's also the public perception, which I know I shouldn't care about, but it still bothers me. I'm at home and I have a nanny. I feel like there would be a lot of judgment and eye-rolling. This shouldn't matter, but I guess I would feel bad.