PDA

View Full Version : speech therapy Q

Sweetum
11-08-2010, 06:36 PM
We've started DS on speech therapy based on his EI evaluation that he needs a little push. The therapist has been coming home for the last 4 weeks (one hour each week). DS has started to warm-up to her and is playing with her. She started him off with colors (red and blue) and is having him sort the colors using colored cups, and small bears. She's now extended them to a couple more colors. she sings songs (like "twinkle twinkle" etc) at the end of each session. Gives us play suggestions. This week she started him on bristle blocks saying that they can be good for his fine motor development too. While it all seems nice, we are wondering how these activities will help in speech development. She hasn't so far focused on one syllable or sound. I admit that I have no experience in this area, but I do wonder. I would love to hear from other parents who had this done for their child and how the therapist went about the therapy. I do understand that each child is treated in a unique fashion depending on his/her needs, but I think it will give me some perspective. thank you all very much.

-SunshineAndMe

crl
11-08-2010, 06:47 PM
I think it would help if you told us what kind of delay they found. Was it expressive or receptive? Are there articulation issues or something else?

Catherine

Sweetum
11-08-2010, 06:57 PM
Hmmm, I don't know! DS understands pretty much everything that's said/told to him. He knows when we expect him to repeat something but doesn't do it. He avoids the whole thing, and just moves on to something else. We don't think he has any hearing issues and our ped too is not concerned. He just doesn't repeat and rarely imitates (he's much better now). I wonder if you can tell based on this information.

ETA: I'll also look up his report and see if there's anything in there.

ETAA: I just checked his report - it's expressive (ties in with what I described above)

brittone2