PDA

View Full Version : Sears Photos - is it a good deal

janine
11-11-2010, 09:38 PM
We desperately need some family photos - looked into some professional photographers which were way too much $$, so thought of Sears. I'm kind of distrustful of them though - can anyone vouch for the pricing and/or quality of results?

jgenie
11-11-2010, 09:57 PM
I've never used Sears, but I've been using JCPenney's since DS1 was 3 months. I've been happy with them - they usually have coupons for $3.99 sheets and that's what I order. If you do a single pose they have large packages that seem to be great value.

sariana
11-11-2010, 10:12 PM
We use JCPenney, too, but I think Sears is similar. It really depends on who you get as your photographer. We have had some rather impressive (to me) shots, and some that were barely worth the server space to upload them.

These "mass market" photography studios specialize in standardization and assembly line style. That's fine for me; I just want shots of my kids.

If you want something more creative, or special image effects, a professional is the way to go. Department store studios will have the basic kinds of things you could do on a home computer (black and white, sepia, and other tones; cropping into shaped frames or words or whatever; things like that).

If you want some nice, basic shots of your family, Sears probably will be fine for you.

A few times in the last 6 years I have been unhappy with the results at JCP. In every case I was able to get a reshot or a reprint. I assume Sears would do the same.

tigs4999
11-11-2010, 10:27 PM
Haven't tried sears either but someone here recently posted about photo innovations so we tried it. Was awesome - for 9.99 you get a ton of photos (at least) 1 10x13, 2 8x10s, several 5x7s, 32 wallets and 9 Christmas cards (all 1shot) and they took at least 75 shots with 2+ outfits. No sitting fee or extra charges (unless you want extra shots). Would recommend it if you have one near you.

FedBaby