PDA

View Full Version : Toddler on the Spectrum vs School Age

swrc00
12-11-2010, 08:34 AM
DH and I are really struggling with DS right now. I really think I am in denial about his behavior. I wrote a post about DS's two year well visit and that the doctor wanted DS to have a full evaluation. All the questions that she asked were directed towards DS being on the spectrum. I sort of chalked it up to the doctor being overly cautious and put DS on a waiting list to be evaluated.
Yesterday he started biting at daycare again and the director observed some behaviors that concerned her. She also agrees DS needs to be evaluated.
DS just turned two and went into the two year old room two months earlier. He does not talk. He often never says a word at school. The teacher says sometimes she hears him singing. He also prefers to play be himself. I keep looking at the Autism checklists and thinking some of these behaviors are typical of a two year old.
I am a teacher and work with school aged children who are on various ends of the spectrum. However, I am not a Special Ed teacher. I am clueless what to look for in a toddler. Can anyone share behaviors that their child on the spectrum does and at what age you observed them? Thanks!!!

firsttimemama
12-11-2010, 10:02 AM
With your DS being 2, the best advice I can give you is to call your local early intervention program as soon as possible and ask for an evaluation. This typically doesn't cost anything. It is worth it to have him checked out even if the answer is going to be no he's not on the spectrum. Early intervention is so important. Dr Sears (of the Vaccine Book, the Autism Book) has a strict policy at his practice that children who are not speaking at 18 months need an evaluation. I think it's a good policy.