PDA

View Full Version : Serious TMI- what is up with all this clotting?!

ShanaMama
12-27-2010, 11:45 PM
Sorry for the TMI- I figured I could hide amongst all the diva threads lately :bag. For the past several months I've had a significant amount of clotting with my period. I would say some of the clots are the size of a few grapes put together but smaller than an egg. Besides that it totally grosses me out, is there any reason to be concerned?
I have the Paraguard IUD & have never had any clotting during my period before the birth of DD2. I just heard that the mid-cycle staining caused by the IUD can depend on the provider who inserted it. (I rarely had staining with my first IUD, inserted by a different provider than the second one.)Can it be the same with clots?

BabyBearsMom
12-28-2010, 11:38 AM
If I had clots that large, I would definitely call my doctor. Good luck.:hug:

BabbyO
12-28-2010, 12:01 PM
I have no experience with IUD's but I know after I stopped nursing DS (13 mo) my periods got very heavy with significant clotting. I called my doc and he recommended an ultrasound (I was due for my yearly exam and had it, too) to rule out any polyps or other concerns. In my case there is nothing "structural" wrong, but he said that if we weren't TTC and were done having kids there were procedures he'd recommend.

I guess anytime I start getting clotting like that I call the doc just to rule out any problems.

SnuggleBuggles
12-28-2010, 01:24 PM
No real thoughts other than checking with your Dr.. I recently did my own TMI search b/c I was getting thick pieces during my period, like tissue. My research is pointing to the fact that b/c my periods are only coming every other month the lining is really getting built up. I plan to talk to my Dr. soon though (though I have in the past and it was dismissed as ok). Anyway, I found lots of decent websites when I googled about it and your problems was on there a lot too.