PDA

View Full Version : What are your favorite Lego Sets?

katydid1971
01-07-2011, 02:04 PM
DS has only been into Legos since this summer so I'm still learning the ins and outs of Legos. We started him on the Lego City stuff and I really love it. The details they include are so cute. I didn't realize that so much of it would be discontinued at the end of the year, I really wanted to get the construction stuff but I got to the online sale to late. I know new stuff will be coming out but just wondering what set you love and which you aren't so wild about. DS loves the toy story stuff but I am not as impressed with it (maybe I've had toy story overload). DS is starting to get into the Star Wars sets but I think their colors are boring (white and gray over and over). I love the Harry Potter stuff but DS hasn't even heard of him. The Altlantis line kind of scares me. That manta ray person is very creepy looking. I'm also not excited about the Ninja line, too violent. Would love to hear you opinion.

RunnerDuck
01-07-2011, 02:12 PM
Naturally the sets I loved best for that age have been d/c'ed... construction and emergency vehicles, nice but simpler than Lego city...

What is really really really cool to keep in mind in a few years though - my son is 7 - is this set from Klutz - my son got it for his BDay last year and he had a tong of fun with it.

http://www.klutz.com/book/Lego-Crazy-Action-Contraptions

You might snag one now and store it away.

http://www.amazon.com/Lego-4517419-LEGO%C2%AE-Road-Construction/dp/B000WOBBAC/ref=sr_1_1?s=toys-and-games&ie=UTF8&qid=1294423950&sr=1-1

That is one of the ones we have and love but it was $20 when I bought it ...