PDA

View Full Version : Talk to me about renting points

bubbaray
01-23-2011, 03:38 PM
I'm a newbie at even considering this option.

Do you just find points on CL or ebay or ???? What about this place: http://www.dvcrequest.com/default.asp

JTsMom
01-23-2011, 03:54 PM
We were just looking into this option. You can save a nice amount on a DVC stay, but there are some downsides. Basically, you have to be really set on your plans. No changes or cancellations, depending on who books for you. You'd definitely want trip insurance, but of course, that won't cover everything that could come up.

You need to book early if it's a busy DVC week. They can book 11 mos out at their home resorts, and from what I read (keep in mind I'm new at this), by 11 mos, you're "late" to start looking for points to rent.

You don't get daily housekeeping unless you pay extra for it.

I looked at the site you linked to, and it looked like a good option. One thing to consider is that you have to pay in full immediately.

You can also look at the disboards rental board, and contract with an individual. You have to be logged into the site to see the board there, and you might also need a certain number of posts- not sure. The guy at the link charges $13 per point, and it seems that you can usually find points for $10 and up on disboards. It just depends on which resort is their home, and how down to the wire they are (points expire).

las710
01-23-2011, 03:58 PM
We rented from an owner we found on disboards.com, in the DVC Rent/Trade forum. Just be sure the person offering points for sale has a lot of posts and appears to have done this before. You can ask for references, a contract, pay via PayPal... for added protection.

If you are not already a member of disboards.com, I think you need to rack up 10 posts before it allows you to Private Message anyone and that is the way you'll need to get in contact with the seller, usually.